The one where you fall in love.

I slammed the door so hard that the picture on the wall next to it began to shake. It was the same old story, you find someone you think is great, but there’s always a catch. This time, the catch wasn’t so much a bad habit or a series of arguments, it was another person. A beautiful person that won everybody over within the first 5 seconds of every conversation. Statistically, it takes a person 2 minutes to form an opinion about a new acquaintance. In her case, you’d be swooning from the start. So how could I blame him? Besides, he was my roommate and we’d broken the roommate bible. So why was I taking it so personally?

I couldn’t be the bigger person. I didn’t want to share a cab with him and his little lovebird because he was making the biggest mistake in his life by choosing her, and he knew it.

I rushed off to take the bus with the rest of the group heading for the match, and that’s when I saw you.

You hear all these stories about love at first sight, the butterflies, the deer in headlights look you get when you see your so-called soulmate – but I felt nothing.

In fact, I didn’t even make eye contact because I was too pissed off and loathing in my pool of self pity. I had a chat with you and your friends, and didn’t think about you afterward. I remember thinking you had nice eyes, more than nice…intimidating. It later became one of my favorite things about you. Remember?

It wasn’t that moment that got me though. It was later on, in the pizzeria where we went that one time after I cancelled and rescheduled 3 times within an hour. You were telling me a story and you were speaking Spanish with an Italian accent because even though we were from two different continents it was the language we had in common. You were exaggerating every character in the story, stereotypically using your hands to describe your feelings- using a chair as a prop, and everyone in the restaurant was looking at you like you were nuts, but you had us all laughing at our table.

You were full of life, and that’s what got me. You had some sort of fire that hypnotized me from that moment on and I knew I wouldn’t be able to get away, no matter how hard I tried.

Pingback

20140806-001011-611119.jpg

4 thoughts on “The one where you fall in love.

  1. Pingback: I Remember the Falling Rain | Ramisa the Authoress

  2. Pingback: Court fixing up the past | litadoolan

  3. Pingback: The one where you feel grateful. | A Guide to Getting Lost

Leave a Reply

